Idle Hands

I don’t do very well with sitting still.  I’m a multi-tasker.  If I’m watching TV I’m probably also scrolling on my phone during the show and reading a book on the commercials or something.  It just makes me feel better to keep my hands busy, like I’m not really wasting time by sitting around and rewatching Community for the fifth time.  Fidget toys are huge right now (and as much as you want to make fun of them, they are actually kind of cool to play with) and I guess that’s really what I’m doing, fidgeting.  In any event, I thought I would share my favourite ways to keep my hands busy in case you’re like me and need a project all the time!

Drawer o’ puzzles

  • Lately I’ve gotten pretty into building Lego, especially the Brickheadz figures.  They’re pretty cheap (Brickheads are around $12) and they look super cute.  I also really like the Nanoblocks sets.  Just gives me something easy to work on!
  • Metal Earth models are a little trickier and more frustrating, but it’s the same kind of deal as Lego.  I’ve only done one of these models and have another one waiting for me.
  • The ever-popular jigsaw puzzle works too!  That link is to the one I’m working on now.  Puzzles are a little harder if you have three cats checking out what you’re doing though.
  • I used to really enjoy knitting while I watch TV, but haven’t done much in the last few years.  It’s a good way to keep your hands busy, but I find I have to look at the pattern so much and keep such close tabs on my K1P1s that I can’t follow anything on TV.
  • Here’s the thing, if you haven’t already figured it out, I’m basically a child.  I can’t draw, but I do like to doodle.  There’s nothing more satisfying than sitting with a blank notebook and a pile of Sharpies and just doodling patterns and lines.
  • The colouring book thing is huge!  I have a couple, but colouring sometimes stresses me out more than relaxes me.
  • I have a pile of patches that need to be sewn onto things but I can never decide where to put them.  Sitting and working on simple handsewing can be so relaxing though, even if I’m just fixing Vivian’s beloved blanket for the hundredth time.
  • Dude, try and actual fidget toy before you knock them.  The spinners are surprisingly relaxing to play with, and I love a good fidget cube.
  • I recently ordered this book of logic puzzles and it seems pretty cool.  I love a good word puzzle, and this book comes with lots of charts to keep track of the information.  Lets me still feel smart while I’m watching something dumb.
  • Basically anything that is small and buildable is my jam lately.  I’ve done a bunch of these wooden dinosaurs and have this book of paper models waiting for me too.

Those are my favourites – my fingertips are actually killing me today from too much patch sewing last night.

 

 

One thought on “Idle Hands

  1. I didn’t know that we are that much alike!! Mending isn’t that much of a chore when you watch a Game Show !! Xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

