The Keanu Retrospective, aka The Cool Breeze Film Festival

Remember how I posted that I had about 200 movies I was wanting to work through this year?  One of my better ideas, to be sure.  Well just for funsies, and because I’m crazy, I’ve come up with another movie viewing project.

You see, I like having a theme to movie nights.  I watch a lot of movies at home, and Dustin and I like to have a theme or a general feel for the movies we watch.  It can be fun to think of movies that would pair well together and I keep a running list of these pairs.  Our grandest idea though?  The Keanu Retrospective, aka The Cool Breeze Film Festival.

This is too good not to share.:

This is the single greatest picture of Keanu that I’ve ever seen.  Enjoy.

Who doesn’t love Keanu Reeves?  The man is a damn treasure.  After seeing John Wick: Chapter 2, we talked about how it would be fun to work our way through the Keanu Reeves catalog, hitting the high points and watching his progression from goofy stoner to badass assassin.

What does the Cool Breeze Film Festival look like?  Something like this…

  • Youngblood
  • Dangerous Liaisons
  • Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure
  • Parenthood
  • Point Break
  • Bill and Ted’s Bogus Journey
  • Bram Stoker’s Dracula
  • Little Buddha
  • Speed
  • Johnny Mnemonic
  • Feeling Minnesota
  • The Devil’s Advocate
  • The Matrix
  • The Gift
  • The Matrix Reloaded
  • Something’s Gotta Give
  • Constantine
  • A Scanner Darkly
  • Street Kings
  • Man of Tai Chi
  • 47 Ronin
  • The Bad Batch

Yes, we’re skipping John Wick, John Wick Chapter 2, Neon Demon, and Knock Knock because we’ve watched those fairly recently.  The hope is that we’ll be caught up by the time The Bad Batch gets its wide release.

So far, it’s been a lot of fun.  We’re getting to watch a lot of old movies we haven’t seen in ages, and have a few on the list that neither of us have seen before.  Plus, as I’ve said before, it can be so hard to decide what to watch sometimes, having a list to work from can make things a lot easier.

Hit me with your best movie night themes and pairings – I’ll do another post with the ideas I’ve got brewing right now!

Leave a Reply

