GNG in 2012!

If you’ve been reading and loving the blog as much as you should be, then you know all about the Graphic Novel Group.  I’ve been a member of the LA Mood Graphic Novel Group since its inception in June 2009, which makes me pretty awesome.  We recently had our pitch session meeting to decide what we’ll be reading for the upcoming year.  You should totally come out for a meeting – it’s a great group of people with awesome discussion and sometimes I bring baked goods.  What more could you ask for?

We meet on the 2nd Saturday of the month at 11:00 a.m. in the basement of LA Mood.  Hope to see you there!

February – Tintin: Red Rackham’s Treasure (or The Secret of the Unicorn/The Crab with the Golden Claws to tie in with the movie)


I read some Tintin when I was younger in French Immersion.  I’ve already read Red Rackham for the next meeting and found it awesomely outdated and mildly offensive.


March – Sandman Vol. 1

I haven’t read any Neil Gaiman.  I KNOW!  I’m a terrible nerd.  Definitely looking forward to this one.
April – Locke & Key Vol. 1


I’ve been eyeing Locke & Key for sometime now, so I’m super excited that we’re finally getting a chance to read it.  I’ve heard so many good things about this fantasy/horror story – especially from Stephen King, who isn’t biased about it at all what with the author, Joe Hill, being his son and all.
May – Chew Vol. 1
We decided to do something light and easy for May since it’s a busy month with Free Comic Book Day the week before.  This story about an FDA Agent who can get something’s life history just by eating it fit the bill.
June – Batman Villains
Free choice!  I love it when we do “topic” months instead of a specific book.  It gives us all a chance to read what we want and still get some great discussion.  This way I can also read The Killing Joke  without getting in trouble because we imposed a “No Alan Moore” rule for 2012.  But seriously, who wouldn’t want to read The Killing Joke?  It’s amazing!  
July – Two Generals
July is our Can-Con month, where we try to read something Canadian for Canada Day.  I’ve heard really great things about this book, so it should be a good month!  I love the art already.
August – R. Crumb month – your choice!
This should be an interesting month.  I’ve never read any Crumb, and I’m not a huge fan of his art.  We’re also going to be doing some sort of screening of the documentary though, so hopefully I can get a bit of background and appreciation for him.
September – Asterios Polyp
I had never heard of this book before, but I already love the minimalist art.  The plot sounds a bit confusing, but I’m intrigued by how it seems to weave in Greek mythology.
October – Hellboy
Another open character month.  Anyone have any recommendations of what I should check out?
November – High Society

This should be an interesting month.  A controversial creator should provide us with lots of discussion!
We take December off since people are so busy anyway.
So there you go – sounds like a great year for reading.  Will you be joining us?  Even if you can’t in person, you should read along and check out our Facebook page here.  I post notes from the meetings, but they might not make sense if you’re not along for the ride! 
One thought on “GNG in 2012!

Leave a Reply

