Outfit of the day – Boots and shorts?

Okay, okay, okay.  I promised myself I would only do one outfit post a week, but I just couldn’t wait to post this one!  I’ve been wanting to try the whole winter shorts look out, but was a little worried that the whole deal kind of just screamed, “THIGHS!  LOOK AT MY THIGHS!”  And seeing as how my legs are my least favourite feature, that’s generally not what I go for with a look.  However, I was intrigued by these adorable shorts, made all the cuter by tights and boots.  So, when I happened upon Smart Set having a major clearance sale, I scored two pairs of winter shorts of $2.49 each.  I ended up getting 6 items for $30.  Oh yes, I’m awesome.
So here’s my outfit for today – I couldn’t decide whether to wear it with my casual, brown motorcycley boots from Aldo a couple of years ago…

You can’t really tell from the pictures, but the shorts are brown with a black plaid.

…or my trusty black heeled boots from Payless even more years ago…

In the end I went with the heeled boots since I was in court today and thought it was a bit fancier.

What do you think?  I have to say, I actually am loving the look.  The tights cure all my leg problems – I might have to start wearing them year round.  Nothing weird about that, right?

What about you?  Have you tried the shorts in the winter look?  Do you love its menswear meets sexy meets casual meets comfortable appeal as much as I do?  Or am I completely wrong and I’m not pulling this off at all and should never attempt it again?

Cardigan from Walmart
T-shirt from Smart Set
Shorts from Smart Set
Tights from somewhere…
Boots from Aldo/Payless

One thought on “Outfit of the day – Boots and shorts?

Leave a Reply

