IKEA hack

So I bought a whole bunch of stuff the other day with the intention of completing a few little projects I’ve had sitting around the house.  Most of them are boring (anyone want to help me re-caulk the tub?) but some are a little more interesting and fun.  (Coming soon – mixing concrete!  For reals.)
This was a quick little project that I’ve been meaning to do for awhile.  We have this bulletin board where we keep all of our concert/sporting event tickets and it was getting just a little crowded.
So, when I saw this little project on IKEA Hackers I thought it would be an easy way to change up the ticket board.  I already had one set of 3 cork trivets from IKEA, and grabbed a couple more when I was there last month.  From there it was just a matter of sticking some Command picture hanging strips on them (which are pretty much the greatest thing ever.  Thank you, 3M!) and sticking them to the wall.

You can see how I started out being good and using my level on the left side, then my usual manner of girl measuring took over on the right side and it got a little lopsided.  My trivets were slightly different sizes, so I left the gaps between them instead of having them touch.

Then it was just a matter of repinning all the tickets and taking a little walk down memory lane.

I think it’s kind of funny how you can see the wall between the gaps now, and it makes me want to repaint that room a brighter colour to play up the contrast.  Not right now though.

I filled it up really quickly, but the nice part about it is that it’s easy to add another three trivets to the side and just keep expanding!

I’m really happy with how it turned out – especially since you can’t tell how lopsided it is now that it’s covered in tickets.
What do you do with tickets?  Keep them in a shoebox?  Photo album?  A ticket journal like this one my friend Jenn found?

Leave a Reply

