Vivian Vendredi – One Year

Can I ask a question?
Who the heck is this baby?

Because it can’t possibly be the same baby as this one.

Yes, a whole year has gone by and Vivian has had her first birthday.  She has changed so, so much this year, it’s really pretty unbelievable.  What’s even crazier is how much she’s changed in just this last week.  She’s been taking a 3 hour nap every day, and has been sleeping through the night (well, basically.  She cries a bit, but I leave her to herself now.)  I haven’t even wanted to say out loud that she’s been sleeping better for fear that it will all fall apart tonight, but she’s really come around.  I really do believe that the combination of homeopath + weighted blanket + blacked out room + sound machine + night light + giving her time to figure things out has gotten us to this point.  We had tried letting her cry it out when she was younger, and the best we would get was 45 minutes of screaming followed by an hour of sleep.  Not fun.

She’s really breaking through on language too – signing for “More”, “All done” and “Milk”, asking for her bubba and saying “Mama” and “Dada”.  Even if there’s something she wants but can’t ask for it herself, she’ll clap when we figure it out and give her the right thing.  It’s really made things easier, and I can’t wait for her to get some more words in that vocabulary.

I’m not sad to see her grow up.  I still don’t have those moments where I wish she was a newborn.  I love our time now.  I love that she’ll snuggle on the couch with me when she’s sleepy, and that she will hold her hand over my mouth to make me blow her a kiss.  I love being able to interact with her and see her understand me.

Things can only get better from here, right?

One thought on “Vivian Vendredi – One Year

Leave a Reply

