My bid for "Sister of the Year"

I don’t usually write blog posts that are just about what I did over the course of a day, but yesterday was no ordinary day.

11:00 p.m. – I go to bed.

1:30 a.m. – Vivian wakes up, I give her a bottle and we both go back to bed.

3:30 a.m. – Vivian is up again.

3:45 a.m. – And again.

4:30 a.m. – And again.

5:00 a.m. – Vivian finally settles down, I lay in bed and pretend to sleep.

5:15 a.m. – My alarm goes off, I get ready to head out for the day.

6:10 a.m. – I grab Vivian out of bed and we head out.

6:15 a.m. – Drop Vivian off at daycare.

6:30 a.m. – Leave Strathroy for Simcoe.

8:20 a.m. – Arrive in Simcoe to work a French court.

10:00 a.m. – Court is done and I’m on my way home.

12:00 p.m. – Yay!  I’m home and Vivian is with my mom.  Maybe it’s time for a nap.

12:25 p.m. – Mom calls to tell me she’s at her place with Vivian, so I head down there.

1:00 p.m. – Get to mom’s.  Vivian’s being insanely whiney since she’s exhausted.  I make her scream herself down for a nap.

1:30 p.m. – Vivian is sleeping, I help mom make a flyer for a Christmas Party.

2:30 p.m. – Vivian is awake.

2:50 p.m. – Mom is getting ready to pick kids up from school/daycare.  She talks to my brother, Matthew, on the phone and he wants to go to a midnight release of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3.

4:00 p.m. – Mom gets home with Matthew and the kids.  I agree to take Matt and his friends to London for the game release.

5:30 p.m. – Matt starts hovering around me, so we head out to pick up his friends in Grand Bend while Vivian stays with mom.

6:10 p.m. – Drop the boys off at EB Games in London, head back to mom’s.

7:00 p.m. – Get back to mom’s.  Vivian’s already been bathed, hooray!

7:10 p.m. – Matthew calls, they need an adult with them to buy the game, so I have go back earlier than I thought.

8:00 p.m. – I leave mom’s to take Vivian home.

8:40 p.m. – Get home, put Vivian to bed.

9:00 p.m. – Finished unpacking all of Vivian’s stuff from the day.  I go to wash the dishes and make bottles, but we’re out of dish soap.  I throw in a load of laundry before heading out.

9:30 p.m. – Return from the grocery store with dish soap, wash the dishes, make bottles.  Going to sleep is starting to sound really, really good.

10:15 p.m. – Take a shower in an attempt to wake myself up.

10:30 p.m. – Sit down to watch How I Met Your Mother.  I try to inject myself with just enough caffeine to make it through the rest of the night, but not so much that I won’t be able to sleep later.  I settle on some Peanut Butter M&Ms and a small glass of Diet Pepsi.

11:00 p.m. – Head out the door to meet up with Matt and his friends.  I start to regret the M&Ms.

11:30 p.m. – Get to EB Games and Matt tells me they might have to wait until 12:30 or 1:00 because they haven’t pre-ordered the game.

12:01 a.m. – The game is on sale!  Hooray!  Line is moving.

12:30 a.m. – Douchebags pull up in their truck, we witness a near-fight which ends in a girl being called the C-word.  She totally deserved it though.

12:45 a.m. – The boys have their games and we all get back in the car to head home.

1:30 a.m. – Drop of the boys in Grand Bend, head to Port Franks.

1:40 a.m. – Drop Matt off at home.

2:00 a.m. – I’m nearly home, but am considering pulling over and sleeping on the side of the road.

2:10 a.m. – Finally pull into my driveway.  Put Vivian’s carseat back in the car.

2:30 a.m. – Curl up in bed.  Didn’t even brush my teeth.

I’m completely exhausted, and I put about 600 kilometers on my car in a day, but it was worth all the trouble to help out my brother and to let him do something special.

Next time they pre-order though.

One thought on “My bid for "Sister of the Year"

Leave a Reply

