Curbside Wine Crates

I had a pretty awesome curbside find the other day.  I was driving home one afternoon when I saw these wine crates sitting in someone’s driveway.

It was garbage day, but I couldn’t quite tell if they were sitting out at the curb, or if people just had them outside – you know how sometimes it’s kind of iffy?  Anyway, Vivian was screaming in the car, so I couldn’t stop right away, but I thought if it’s meant to be, they’ll be there later.  I went to a movie with a friend that night, and on my way home they were still there.  I pulled over and started loading them up.  Luckily, the house was right around the corner, so when my car got full, I just dumped them in the garage and went back for the rest.

When Jagger saw them, all he could say was, “I knew you were going to take those.  I saw them sitting out there and just knew you would drag them home.”  I just asked why he didn’t get them for me and save me the trouble of loading them up.

So now the question is what to do with them.  I have 24 crates, and they’re much smaller than my old apple crates.  Of course Pinterest is full of ideas.

This was my first thought – using them as planter boxes like they did here.

Second thought was adding casters to them to use as under-bed storage like here.

Of course, I could always just stack them up and use them for storage again.

 I’m open to suggestions!  Unless of course the suggestion is to stop picking up garbage from the side of the road.  Mom, I know you were thinking it!

One thought on “Curbside Wine Crates

Leave a Reply

