Whose room is it anyway?

Do you ever read Ohdeedoh?  Since Vivian’s been around, I’ve been checking it out pretty much everyday.  It’s a great site filled with beautiful kids rooms, awesome party ideas, and really great crafts.  Lately though, I’ve come across a couple of articles that have bothered me a little bit.  Here’s the links to the two articles – check them out and let me know if anything sticks out to you.

Did you read them?  I didn’t think so.  Here’s what bothered me in each article…

“If you’re like my mom and you let your little Rainbow Brite choose the colour, then I commend you, I really do, because I loved my raspberry room.  If however, you are like me and want to steer away from certain eyeball-melting hues, then I have a couple of tips for you that I discovered while shopping for paint with my daughter recently.”

“My 9-year old daughter has been begging for some cool updates in her room, and I’ve been a little resistant for fear of an onslaught of purple and sparkles and faux fuzzy things.  How do I incorporate all the glitter she wants while keeping the design chic and fresh?”

Basically, both articles are talking about decorating in kids rooms without letting it get ugly.  You know, by letting the kids get what they want.

Now, I get it.  Kids stuff can be ugly.  It’s usually something plastic or furry or some garish colour and covered in faces.  It probably won’t match the rest of your home, and yes, you probably will have to change it when they get tired of it.

But isn’t that kind of the point?

I understand that there are some aspects of design for kids that you want to be timeless.  Good, solid pieces of furniture that are built to last are definitely a must.  And I understand that you don’t want to repaint a bedroom or buy another set of sheets and comforter when your kid decides that they are over Thomas, or Spongebob or whatever else it is.  But isn’t it more important to give your kids a sense of ownership of their own rooms?  Don’t you want to make that space the absolute most fun space it can be?

The rooms on Ohdeedoh are amazing, really.  The nurseries are all perfectly put together whether they’re filled with the best, top-of-the-line items, or carefully curated with vintage pieces.  But I can’t help but feel like most of it is for the parents, and not the kids.

When I was decorating Vivian’s room, I wanted it to be bright and fun, but have neutral walls which could be easily changed since we didn’t know if we were having a boy or a girl.  All along I was decorating it with the knowledge that we would probably be starting all over from scratch as soon as the kid came along and got a mind of her own.  (And boy, does Vivian ever have a mind of her own.)  I never thought of that room as being my room.  I never worried about how it fit in with the rest of the house, or how people would react to it.  I wanted it to be functional and fun for her.  I don’t know, maybe my house just isn’t perfect enough to understand.

I mean, this room is beautiful.  It really is.


But in a couple of years, if your kid is begging to have Dora the Explorer on her wall, are you going to say no because it isn’t pretty enough?

I don’t know, maybe I’m getting worked up over nothing.  Maybe these kids are really into design and appreciate all the fuss over their rooms.  But if Vivian asks for her room to be painted some outrageous colour one day, I really hope I still think this way and will encourage her to make her own decisions for her own space.

But who knows, maybe she’ll have impeccable taste and I won’t have to worry about staring at bright pink and princesses for the next few years.

2 thoughts on “Whose room is it anyway?

  1. I totally agree with you Ashlie. Case in point, when we redecorated Tanner's room I let him pick the colours. So up went the red walls and blue ceiling! lol It actually didn't look that bad. It is time to change now though and painting over those dark colours will probably pose a challenge but eh who really cares? Another good read chica! 🙂

    Aunt Jill

    Like

  2. My mom always decorated our rooms and it was usually every two-three years (back when my mom still had that spunky energy) and we never objected. Only when we got into our teens that we were allowed to do our own rooms and even then one rule applied: no black walls! 😦

    But really, it's totally up to you. Nothing wrong with setting boundaries but dictating can be a bit harsh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

