Vivian Vendredi – Homeopathic Magic

It’s been almost a week since we started Vivian on her homeopathic remedy.  So far, so good.  It hasn’t been an overnight success, but there’s definitely been improvement.  Instead of going through 4 bottles in a night with her waking up every 1-2 hours, we’re going through 2 bottles a night and usually get one good 3-4 hour stretch with a couple of wake-ups after that.  I would say the biggest difference now is that Vivian is much more calm at night and easier to soothe.  The other morning she was wide awake at 5:30, and I just put her back in her own bed and she chatted herself to sleep until 7:30.  Very nice.
I think she might start sleeping even better once I totally break the habit of her sleeping with us.  It’s totally more me keeping her there, mostly out of laziness.  If she wakes up and we both doze off in bed while I’m giving her a bottle, I tend to just keep her there with me instead of waking up enough to go across the hall to put her back to bed.  I think a lot of that is also worrying that she’ll wake up if I move her, but with the homeopathy, that doesn’t seem to be happening as often.
So, here’s the answers to the most common homeopathy questions I’ve been getting.  I warn you, they’re not very good answers.  If you want more information on homeopathy for yourself, you can find our homeopathic physician here.
So what is it?
Vivian’s remedy is in a little eye dropper.  She gets two drops on a spoon every morning.  She loves taking it.  It’s weird how much she loves it.  I have no idea what’s in it (at our consultation, Amanda said she was considering a few different remedies, then she just dropped it off at our house, it’s not like a prescription type thing.  Although Jagger expected to be told Vivian needed more eye of newt or something) to be honest, I don’t really care what’s in it as long as it helps her.
How long does she have to take it?
We have a follow-up appointment on September 1st, so I imagine we’ll reassess and go from there.
What happens at the appointment?
For us, it was a lot of talking.  It was good to just sit and blurt out everything that’s been going on with Vivian the whole time and have someone listen.  She observed what Vivian acts like and asked a lot of questions.  No exams, nothing like that.  I imagine if you were having a consultation for yourself it would be different since you would be able to tell them what it is that’s bothering you.  With Vivian, it was talking about a lot of things like how sweaty her head gets at night, how she likes to be held, what kind of movement she likes for rocking, how she plays, how she eats, things like that.
So what is it that was the problem?
We didn’t get any sort of diagnosis, I don’t think that’s really how homeopathy works.  With Vivian, I think she definitely was having digestive issues (that the probiotics have really helped with) and just has a really hard time settling down and turning off her brain when it’s time to sleep.  I also think she might be having some nightmares that cause her to wake up in the night.
So, that’s where we’re at.  Who knows, maybe next week I’ll be able to say she’s slept through the night! Fingers crossed!
2 thoughts on “Vivian Vendredi – Homeopathic Magic

Leave a Reply

