Chalkboard paint

Whenever things are tough with Vivian, I seem to find a project for myself instead of taking time to nap. Even if I’m completely exhausted, there’s something about completing a project that makes me feel more like myself and like I’ve really accomplished something.
Lately, I’m all about the chalkboard paint.

I started out painting my pantry door and the cupboard door above it.  I’ve been meaning to do it for some time – I thought it would be a great place to keep running lists, or for Vivian to scribble on when she’s a bit older to keep her occupied when I’m busy in the kitchen.

Chalkboard paint is so easy, cheap and versatile, it’s awesome.  I got a small can of chalkboard paint (what is that, a pint?  I don’t even know.) for $20 at Home Depot and you really don’t need a lot.  I did two coats of paint on these projects to give it a nice, even coat, but you could probably get away with one coat if you did one really good one.  After you paint it, you have to leave it to cure for three days, then condition it by rubbing chalk all over it and then wiping it down to give you a surface that’s ready for writing!

After I did the cupboards, I decided to move on to the backsplash.  I’ve been wanting to do something with the backsplash since before we moved in, but could never settle on anything that I could afford.  Enter chalkboard paint.

I was a little wary about it at first, but bolstered by a search on Pinterest, I saw that other people had done this and I really liked the results.

Right now it seems really dark and high contrast because the backsplash hasn’t had the conditioning with the chalk yet, so it will be toned down a little tomorrow when I do that.

I think it will look awesome once I finally get around to painting the walls the cedar green colour that I’ve been dying to use for the last year.

I have another chalkboard paint project on the go (using chalkboard paint is oddly addictive) but I’m not quite done with it yet, so hopefully I’ll be able to post about that soon.
Have you painted anything with chalkboard paint?  I can’t wait to find something else to paint!
One thought on “Chalkboard paint

  1. My mom used it in my niece's playroom in the basement and she did shapes (house shape, tree shape) and my nieces can colour it in or just do their own crazy design. And yes, chalkboard paint is HIGHLY addictive. be careful! Lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

