I don’t know about this, Rachael.

I haven’t been posting many Rachael Ray menu plan recipes on here lately for a couple of reasons.  We’ve still been doing them (it’s really all that we eat anymore, I rarely cook anything rogue) but I found that they posts weren’t getting much traffic and I wanted to try and focus more on personal recipes and posts, rather than just posting a recipe that I’ve tried and commenting on it.  If anyone is still interested in her menu plans that we follow, let me know and I can continue to post on them.  You can also find them here, or through the handy new widget at the bottom of the page.

Anyway, like I said, we have still been consistently using her meal planners as our cornerstone as far as meals and groceries went.  It made it easy to go grocery shopping with Vivian, since we weren’t wandering around saying, “What do you want for dinner?”  “I don’t know, what do you want for dinner?”  You know how it goes.  So we were happy with our meal plans – 7 meals, $100, lots of variety and healthy options.

Then I got my Rachael Ray Every Day magazine for May.  And they’ve changed everything.  The whole magazine got a makeover – including my beloved menu planner.

Now instead of a full week’s worth of meals, it’s only five meals.  They hype it as “Shop on Sunday, feed your family ’til Friday.”  Now, I suppose that’s not so bad.  To be honest, it took us a long time to make our way through the seven meals.  It would usually take us closer to two weeks to work through the one week plan, and then we would end up with having to get some of the produce again, or substituting things that had gone bad in the meantime.  It seemed like between leftovers, meals at my mom’s, and dinners out, we just never got through them in a week.  Hopefully with the five meals it will be better to balance it with our daily lives.  Also, this leaves us with room on the weekends for cooking some old favourites or breaking out the barbeque for some simple burgers and hot dogs or something.

My biggest complaint with the new meal planner?  The size.

Size matters, people.

Here is the old meal planner compared to the new meal planner.  See what I mean?  I threw a pen in there for scale.

It’s much smaller.  But, they do spread each recipe over two pages, so it’s not too squished on the page.

What I do like about the new format is they offer helpful suggestions through the recipes on how much to use.  I’ve often been cooking something and realized too late that I used too many mushrooms or something, and have none left for another night on the planner.  In the new version it says things like “2 scallions, thinly sliced (use more of the bunch Wednesday).  So that’s helpful.

I just can’t get over the size.  I don’t know why they would have shrunk it down, but it is what it is.  At least the recipes look yummy.  (Coming up – Catfish sandwiches with sweet potato “fries”, Bistro steak and egg salad, Chicken tikka with Indian-style sweet potato salad, Meatloaf patties with carrot slaw, and Chili-rubbed pork chops with black bean salad)  Yum.

Any changes rocked your world lately?  Have you been missing my RR recipes?

Leave a Reply

