Look what I did!

To continue with my project of making the basement liveable for as little money as possible, I came across an awesome deal to give me a wall full of solid wood storage for $100.

That’s right.

Ever since we moved in, we’ve needed bookcases.  The problem was, we needed a lot.  What it basically boiled down to was either we cheap out and buy a bunch of bookcases from IKEA which will just be particle board and fall apart in a couple of years (and still cost us a few hundred dollars for what we need) or wait until we can do something in solid wood.  The problem with the solid wood is that it just hasn’t been in our budget, and it doesn’t look like we would have that budget for them anytime soon.

I’ve been wanting to do this for quite some time, but was waiting to find just the right deal.  I finally found it on Kijiji last week.  Someone was selling vintage 1970’s apple crates for $5 a piece.  I decided to go with 30 crates, so I got a deal and got them for $100.  I started out wanting 20, then 25, then decided to go with 30.  I’m so glad I did!

The people I bought them from suggested putting a clearcoat on them to make it easier to dust them.  I shifted uncomfortably and agreed, “Uh, yeah, of course…I dust my stuff all the time…”  Yeah, no.  I just gave them a quick wash and they were ready to go, at least for what I wanted out of them.

I set them up a bunch of different ways before deciding how I wanted to keep them.

I tried using some crates that I already owned to help fill in the space, that’s why a couple look different.

That’s the combination I finally decided to go with.  It leaves me with an extra crate from this purchase, plus the ones I already owned, so I can use them for something else.  The first time I set them up like this, I could fit a couple of crates under that bulkhead, but when I set them up like this again, I couldn’t get them under.  I figured it wasn’t a big deal because I could just fill that space with books stacked up there anyway.

Initially I was going to stagger the crates and leave some negative space, but once I saw how nicely the 30 crates filled up that area of wall, I just left it.  They’re not permanent – one day once we finish the floors and whatnot, we’ll mount them all to the wall so it’s nice and safe.  For now though, they’re just stacked, so it’s relatively easy to switch things out if we have to for whatever reason.

I have always wanted a giant wall of bookcases for media – books, CDs, DVDs, whatever.  Finally, I’m pretty close.

Comics up top…

And even two crates for all my V.C. Andrews books.

So there you go.  That’s how we got a huge wall o’ solid wood storage for just $100.

I’m so freaking happy and excited about it, it just makes me so happy.  There’s even room to add more books!  Hooray!  This isn’t even all of our books, there’s still a bunch hanging around upstairs, but it makes me so, so happy to see most of them living together happily in the basement!

2 thoughts on “Look what I did!

  1. What a great idea! Good for you! It really looks wonderful.

    We are in the same boat of having too many books and not enough shelves. (Is there such a thing as having too many book!?!?!) Unfortunately, we don't have the physical space for crates either.

    You did a fabulous job. It looks great, and you were able to have a home for many of your books!

    🙂

    Ana

    Like

Leave a Reply

