Are You Ready?

Today is my actual due date.  I take it with a grain of salt though, since my due date used to be December 2nd, but apparently the hospital and my doctor’s office count things a little differently.

All I keep getting asked is, “Are you ready?”  Uh, no.  No, I’m not ready.

Do I feel prepared?  Yes.  Do I have the stuff necessary to bring the kid home?  Yes.  But still, I don’t think we’re ready.

I don’t think you’re supposed to actually feel ready for this. 

I have no idea what kind of labour and delivery it’s going to be, or how I’ll react to the situation.  I have no idea how I’ll deal with the exhaustion and the complete change in our lifestyle.

I figure it’s easier to think “Nope, not ready for this, not ever going to be ready.” than to sit there thinking, “Ah, I’m totally ready for this!”  I think I’d just be setting myself up for failure that way.

It still feels pretty surreal to me, and I don’t think anything is actually going to happen for some time yet.  Jagger’s more concerned than I am right now, he worries when he leaves me and overreacts to every little groan and complaint I have.

I’ve been pretty calm and relaxed the whole time, so hopefully that keeps up for me in the home stretch!

One thought on “Are You Ready?

Leave a Reply

