Nesting Instincts

I did a bit of cleaning the other day – I suppose you would call it nesting.  I haven’t had a whole lot of drive for major nesting, it’s been more little things so far.  Here was what I started with in my office.

It had become a dangerous dumping ground.  As more and more baby stuff came into the house, more and more regular stuff got shoved into the office.  It’s a handy place to hide things because it’s on the main floor (no dragging of things down to the basement) and it’s a room we don’t use too often.  In fact, I’m really the only one who uses it, Jagger just goes in to get the laptop and that’s about it.

We had to move that table out of the living room to make room for the playpen, and we also aquired a bunch of new (to us) comic books which are hiding in those boxes under the mirrors there.

Boxes of posters waiting for frames and a basket of junk that had to be moved out of the dresser now occupying the baby’s room.

The desk surface seems to be clean, but the tray on the shelf is full of junk and there’s a bunch of stuff sitting on the printer that shouldn’t be there.  The printer is also flashing an angry red light at me because it wants more toner, but I’ve been ignoring it for a few weeks.

Oh, closet.  I’ve been considering taking down the bifold door on this closet and just hanging a shower curtain type deal to close it off, but I’m trying to resist the urge.

The rest of the closet was filled with crafting stuff and gift bags that I inexplicably save, even though I will never need that many gift bags.

Knitting stuff hiding in the corner of the closet.

So, after a frantic hour or so, I ended up with a much tidier office.  I’m still not satsified with the way things are, I would love to have more shelving in here, like along this whole wall, but for now it is definitely an improvement.

Ooh, look!  You can see the floor!

The desk area seems to be unchanged, but it really is much tidier.

I got rid of a bunch of old magazines I had hanging around for no good reason.

Comic book tower seems much better.  I still have to cover that gossip bench one day – it might be a “I’m home with a baby” project.

I didn’t take many pictures of the inside of the closet, but trust me, it’s much improved.  I bit the bullet and thew out all the gift bags I had amassed.  If they had been more generic, I would have kept them, but they were all from the wedding and the baby shower.  I really don’t think I’ll be needing that many specific gift bags in the near future. 
I’m still not happy with the closet either – I would love to put shelving all the way down the ground in there and turn it into more of a storage area, but I know that one day this room will end up being another bedroom, so I don’t want to rob us of that closet and its hanging capabilities.
It’s a start – there’s definitely a lot more stuff around our house that needs to be organized that I’m hoping nesting will take care of before it’s all said and done.  I did start organizing my recipes, so we’ll see where it goes from here.
What do you think?  Should I ditch the bifold doors?  The cats know how to open them anyway, so it’s not like they keep them out or anything.
Full disclosure – I wrote all of that like 2 weeks ago.  Today the nesting continued with rearranging the living room, so I thought I would tack it onto this post.
Here was the living room before…

 I’ve rearranged the living room so, so many times since we’ve moved in.  I liked this set up, because Jagger’s couch (the brown one) was finally in the spot he wanted it – so that he could lay down with his feet pointing at the TV with the remote in his right hand.

The problem with the living room this way was that it was really closed off.  It didn’t bother us, but we really noticed it as soon as someone else came over.

So, here’s my solution.

Having the couches in an L-shape really helped to open things up, even with so much stuff in the living room.  We can’t help it, we’re couch people, so we need to have two big couches.
So, there you go.  Two days off on maternity leave and I’m rearranging the house.
2 thoughts on “Nesting Instincts

  1. One of my favourite things! It's funny, I read an interview with Kevin Smith once where he met Sean William Scott who asked for a part in a movie (he was in Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back) and his big pitch was, “I love you! I have a framed Mallrats poster!” And Kevin Smith was like, “Seriously? I don't even own a Mallrats poster.” I have posters for Clerks, Dogma and Jay and Silent Bob Strike back too, but never got them mounted like Mallrats is. One day, when the basement is finished, maybe they can live down there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

