Pinch Me

I have a weird thing for lobsters.  I don’t know why, but something about lobster-themed items is just so freaking adorable and kitchy and awesome, I can’t resist it.  I love lobster-themed stuff almost as much as I love eating lobsters.

Come on, how adorable are these salt and pepper shakers?  My great-grandma had a collection of salt and pepper shakers that I would kill to get my hands on now.  I fear that one day I’ll end up with some sort of china cabinet filled with hideous little salt and pepper shakers.

This casserole dish is amazing.  I love that the handles are lobster tails – adorable!

These next two platters are so awesomely retro and 50s/60s cool, I can’t stand it.  I can just picture Betty Draper serving Don something on these.

Of course, lobster awesomeness isn’t restricted to the kitchen.  I’m in love with this little lobster onesie! 
And I might need this lobster scarf…just because it’s so pretty.   They have the same design and quote on T-shirts too – the quote is French and I’d never heard it before,
« J’ai le goût des homards, qui sont tranquilles, sérieux, savent les secrets de la mer, n’aboient pas… »  Included in every order- a card with the translation:

“I have a liking for lobsters. They are peaceful, serious creatures. They know the secrets of the sea, they don’t bark…”  Supposedly the French poet, Gérard de Nerval, would walk his pet lobster with a ribbon. This was his reasoning for adopting a lobster as opposed to a dog!

I just ripped it off of their store site, rather than trying to put it in my own words.

Any weirdo designs floating your boat lately?  It’s amazing what you can find on etsy.com!
5 thoughts on “Pinch Me

  1. I LOVE the salt and pepper shakers! Seriously, those things are best-friend makers. You should buy a bunch and give them as gifts – they will be an invaluable barometer with which you will be able to accurately gauge a person's compatibility. My son actually has swim trunks that are navy blue with lobsters on them – so cute! I fully support you in your lobster collection and am really thinking hard about how much I love S&P (for those in “the trade”. What?) shakers too.

    How's your sister feeling? How is Sweet Baby Blair doing?

    Like

  2. Hey Joan – I'm glad someone else shares my lobster love! Here's the best part – after I posted this, I hoped on kijiji to see if I could find any lobster stuff and I found those salt and pepper shakers! I emailed the guy because it was a “make an offer” thing, and offered him $10 for them. Of course, because it's kijiji, I get one of those “Oh, someone last week offered me $20 for them, if you can match or beat that then they're yours.” I hate the games people play on kijiji, argh.

    Blair and Courtney are doing much better – unfortunately, Courtney had even more setbacks and complications, but everyone is out of the hospital and doing great now. Blair is perfect, of course!

    Like

  3. I LOVE lobster stuff too! But I resist buying it for you know how crazy I am with buying silly stuff of all kinds. I don't want to collect it in excess but I'm always on the lookout for that perfect lobster serving set that I will some day own.

    Those two platters are amazing, I love them both! The white one is so classic and would be beautiful for serving. The dark one is so very interesting and would be nice hung on a wall.

    Like

Leave a Reply

