Shrimp-and-Corn Quesadillas with Avocado Salad


I picked up the new Rachael Ray magazine today with a new menu planner. I wasn’t sure if we would want to start another week of Rachael telling us what to eat, but apparently Jagger thinks that Rachael is the new boss of us, so we might keep this up for a while. I’ll keep posting recipes as long as people want to read them, but expect lots more randomness coming your way soon!

Serves: 4 Prep: 15 min Cook: 20 min
1/2 cup chopped red onion plus 1/2 cup thinly sliced red onion
1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1 pound large shrimp, peeled and deveined
salt and pepper
grated peel of 1 lime plus 2 tablespoons lime juice
1/4 cup chopped flat-leaf parsley
8 large flour tortillas
2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
1 cup frozen corn kernels
2 avocados, chopped
1. In a medium nonstick skillet, cook the chopped onion in 1 tablespoon olive oil over medium-high heat for 5 minutes.
2. Add the shrimp, season with salt and pepper and cook until just opaque, 2 to 3 minutes.
3. Let the shrimp cool slightly, then coarsely chop
4. Toss with half of the lime peel, lime juice and parsley
5. Place a tortilla on a work surface and sprinkle with 1/4 cup cheese. Top with 1/4 cup corn, one-quarter of the shrimp mixture and another 1/4 cup cheese, season with salt and pepper and set another tortilla on top. Repeat with the remaining tortillas, cheese, corn and shrimp mixture to make 4 quesadillas (I didn’t do this because it sounded like it was going to be an obscene amount of food. Maybe my tortilla shells were too large, I don’t know. I had the large size shells like the recipe calls for, but I found it worked better for me to put the fillings on half of the tortilla, then fold it in half. This worked much better for flipping in my opinion. If you used smaller shells, then it would probably be easier to go with the technique in the recipe.)
6. In a medium skillet, heat 2 tablespoons olive oil over medium-low heat. Add a quesadilla to the pan and cook, turning once, until crisp about 3 minutes. Repeat with the remaining olive oil and quesadillas. Let cool slightly, cut into wedges. (The olive oil does wonders to make the outside lovely and crispy and brown. I love how olive oil does that. I make our pancakes in olive oil all the time, it makes them super crispy. Seems like it would be gross, but it isn’t – trust me!)
7. In a medium bowl, combine the sliced onion and the avocado. Toss with the remaining lime peel, lime juice and parsley, season with salt and pepper. Serve with the quesadillas.
This turned out nicely, I was pretty happy with it. I found the quesadillas to be a bit bland though. I’m not a spicy kind of person, but I wanted a different flavour in there. The next time that I make this, I might try adding some black beans to it and make sure there was salsa and sour cream on hand. I would be more likely to experiment with some spices with the shrimp as well. The avocado salad turned out good, but I found it was way too many onions. The lime helped to cut down the onionyness (yes, that’s an official cooking term) but next time I think I would just add a few onions to taste, rather than have them as a main part of the salad.
I’m quite proud of myself for this meal – if only because of the fact I made it all the way through cooking them and eating them without a single Napoleon Dynamite impression.
Tomorrow is the last dish on this meal planner – Chicken and Sweet Onion Sandwiches with Mixed Greens Salad!
6 thoughts on “Shrimp-and-Corn Quesadillas with Avocado Salad

  1. apparently Jagger thinks that Rachael is the new boss of us

    Hehehe! That looks so good – I love avocados!

    Random Onion Related Fact: If your hands smell all oniony from chopping, apparently you can touch stainless steel (the faucet) and it neutralizes the smell. It works for garlic too. They even sell “cook's soap” that is just a disk of stainless steel.

    Like

  2. Really? I'll have to try that! My hands always smell like garlic and onions after cooking. I have really dry hands, so I think they just suck up whatever moisture they can get, even if it's just onion juice.

    Like

  3. Yummers! I picked a bad week to fall behind on my blogreading. Well, my laptop picked a bad time to go bonkers.
    The lime helped to cut down the onionyness
    I think the proper word is “onioninity”.
    Avocados rock like the mosh pit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

