A Birthday Gift For You!

Hello all, today is my birthday, so in honour of that, I’m giving you all a gift! Here at long last are some wedding pictures and the story of our wedding day.

The day was perfect, we couldn’t have asked for better weather. Jagger texted me first thing in the morning to say it was a beautiful day and that he couldn’t wait to see me. I was in the unusual predicament of being quite bored on our wedding day – I’d managed to finish everything the day before, so I had no projects, no errands, nothing to do but get ready that day. So, I slept in until 9:30 (prompting my mom to think I’d climbed out the window) which was a huge relief since I hadn’t been sleeping the whole week leading up to the wedding – the fact that I was coming down with a cold and had taken a bunch of Nyquil the night before definitely helped! I didn’t have bridesmaids, just my sister as my maid of honour, so I didn’t have to deal with a bunch of people running around trying to get ready. When my makeup artist arrived at 12:30, she marvelled at how calm things were at my mom’s.

Then things started to change.

Around 2:00 p.m., I started getting anxious. I didn’t have anything to keep me occupied, and I was starting to sweat a little. Mom set me to work folding laundry to keep my hands busy and I put on my iPod with my running playlist to get my mind focused. Guess what – if you’re folding static-y laundry and it touches the cord of your headphones, you get a shock IN YOUR EAR.

Not the best way to get ready for a wedding.

The photographer was supposed to be at my mom’s at 3:00, but they hit construction and didn’t get there until about 3:30. That’s when I really started to lose it.

I put a ban on “The B Word”. My sister kept looking at me and saying “Awww, you’re such a beautiful bride” and I couldn’t handle it. “Please, don’t say ‘bride’,” I begged. The big joke was that they could come up with a different “B Word” to call me.

It started to be a whirlwind when the photographer got there, we got my hair done and she started snapping pictures. That’s when I started gagging.

I never thought that would be how I would react to the wedding. My guess was that I would faint, because I have a history of fainting. Instead, as I sat there with my hair in hot rollers, I started getting an uncontrollable urge to gag. My mom made me some ginger tea and I clutched my box of mints like they were going to save my life. As long as I kept sucking my mints, I would be okay.

Then it was 4:00. The ceremony was an hour away. “Do you want to put on your dress now?” My mom asked “No, not yet. Everyone else get dressed first.” I didn’t end up in my dress until about 4:30. I realized later that I never even looked in a mirror of myself all decked out. I couldn’t handle that. We did a few pictures in the yard and got loaded into my mom’s van to head to the golf course. She turned the key and somehow the knob for the volume had gotten cranked to 11 and Guns N’ Roses started blaring loud enough to make me jump and nearly choke on my mint.

We got to the golf course about 10 minutes late – I was so embarrassed! But, it all went off without a hitch. I started choking up in my vows, but I never spilled a tear – couldn’t wreck that makeup!

The party was great, I think everyone had an awesome time, at least I did. I didn’t get a chance to eat much of anything and I only had one glass of wine (I’m sure there are lots of people who think I’m pregnant now because of that) but I danced the night away and couldn’t have been happier.

My advice for future brides? Freak out when you want to freak out. Everyone tells you how on the day of, the details won’t matter any more and that’s true. On the day of, the details didn’t matter to me – but in the weeks leading up to the wedding, they mattered a lot. My advice is to freak out and get it out when you need to. Also, be a control freak if you are a control freak. I read that advice in a book and it’s so true. If you’re a control freak, why would you hand over controls to someone else on the biggest planning event of your life? Do what makes you feel comfortable. Also, get someone to make you a plate of food. When we got back to the hotel after, we would have killed for a full meal like the awesome breakfast buffet we missed out on. It’s a great idea to put someone in charge of making you a little care package to take with you.

And now, here’s some pictures of the big day. Hope you enjoy them!

5 thoughts on “A Birthday Gift For You!

Leave a Reply

